ABOUT THIS PODCAST

Weekly insights for online business builders and small business owners earning a living doing something they care about. We focus on modern business essentials, self employment, motivation, productivity, audience growth, blogging, podcasting, content marketing, work-life balance among other things!
English
United States
329 episodes
since April 9, 2014

LATEST EPISODE

Shownotes for this episode: http://fizzleshow.com/328 The audience we aim to capture and the potential clients we go after are ultimately what make a business stay afloat or sink, without an audience you are not really an entrepreneur, right? So how do we find that particular section of the market that is right for us? How wide or narrow should we cast our nets and what are the indicators we can follow in this regard? In this episode we break down the battle for your products; how niche is too niche and how general is just way too general. We pull apart the considerations that go into shooting for the stars and an audience, emphasizing how this process evolves and changes over time! Today on the show we are joined by Justin Jackson, old friend, host of the Build Your SaaS Podcast and cofounder of Transistor! Our special guest shares his expertise in the space, unpacking how he learned the value and dangers of aiming for specific sections of the market and how the internet makes reaching anyone possible. We also talk about the personality of your product, why no matter how good your idea and research is you always have to build a great product and the inability of humans to reliably predict their future actions when asked. For all this great stuff, be sure to join on for this episode of the Fizzle Show! Key Points From This Episode: The job that Corbett originally hired Chase to do! [0:02:41.2] A little bit about today's special guests and what they do. [0:05:03.3] Micro-niching, specific audiences and the evolving approach to growing. [0:09:11.8] Outdated adages and looking for confirmation bias and proof. [0:15:49.1] Why have people like Nathan Barry been successful? [0:19:25.5] The Jobs to be Done framework and understanding why people purchase. [0:25:02.3] Correlation, causation and the disconnection between. [0:32:48.8] The fallacy of identifying a new niche and this translating to sales. [0:35:03.9] Chase's own niche story and the overall vibe of feedback. [0:37:29.4] The inability to honestly forecast future actions now. [0:43:58.3] The personality that goes into a product; pouring yourself into your work. [0:49:05.6] Seeds of a culturally resonant product and the time it takes for them to root. [0:55:35.8] The special thing that happens when you care and have something to share. [1:01:31.2] What the journey to a viable market really looks like. [1:05:45.8] And much more! Links Mentioned in Today’s Episode: Fizzle — https://fizzle.co/326 Fizzle Roadmap — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/small-business-roadmap-1-clarity Justin Jackson — https://justinjackson.ca/ Transistor FM — https://transistor.fm/ Build Your SaaS — https://saas.transistor.fm/ Jack Conte — https://www.linkedin.com/in/jack-conte-a15a3686 Nathan Barry — https://nathanbarry.com/ ConvertKit — https://convertkit.com/ Pat Flynn — https://www.smartpassiveincome.com/ Stranger Things — https://www.rottentomatoes.com/tv/stranger_things Undertale — https://undertale.com/ Tim Ferriss — https://tim.blog/ Rob Fitzpatrick — https://robfitz.com/ The Mom Test — https://www.amazon.com/Mom-Test-customers-business-everyone/dp/1492180742 Seth Godin — https://seths.blog/ Matt Giovanisci — https://www.moneylab.co/ Elizabeth Gilbert — https://www.elizabethgilbert.com/ Dream Daddy — https://store.steampowered.com/app/654880/Dream_Daddy_A_Dad_Dating_Simulator/ Dream Daddy Conference Talk — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ovcAh2O--Q Master Class — https://www.masterclass.com/ Dustin Hoffman — https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000163/ Aaron Sorkin — https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0815070/ Neil Gaiman — http://www.neilgaiman.com/ Fizzle Name Evaluator — https://fizzle.co/?s=name+evaluator Fizzle Try 5 — http://fizzle.co/try5 The Fizzle Jump Start Bundle — https://fizzle.co/jumpstart Jen Rao — https://jenrao.com/ Joe Kerns — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/author/joekerns Chase Reeves — https://www.youtube.com/user/chasereeves Corbett Barr on Twitter — https://twitter.com/CorbettBarr Aiden Fishbein — https://twitter.com/megafishbein?ref_src Fizzle Customer Conversations Course — https://app.fizzle.co/courses/customer-conversations Fizzle Define Your Audience Course — https://fizzle.co/guides/defining-your-audience Fizzle Goals Course — https://fizzle.co/courses/goals Fizzle on Twitter — https://twitter.com/fizzle Fizzle Just Ship It Challenge — https://app.fizzle.co/just-ship-it-challenge Fizzle Sparkline — https://fizzle.co/sparkline Fizzle Journaling Course — https://fizzle.co/courses/journal Fizzle Essentials of Web Design Course — https://fizzle.co/library/essentials-of-website-design-for-business-builders Fizzle Website Tune Up Curse — https://fizzle.co/courses/tuneup Fizzle 80/20 Copywriting Guide — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/writing-copy-for-web Fizzle Toolkit — https://fizzle.co/toolkit Fizzle Craft + Commerce — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/craft-commerce Fizzle Project Management for Entrepreneurs — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/project-management-for-entrepreneurs Fizzle Hosting — https://fizzle.co/hosting
Disclaimer: The podcast and artwork embedded on this page are from Fizzle.fm, which is the property of its owner and not affiliated with or endorsed by Listen Notes, Inc.

CLAIM THIS PODCAST

Why to claim podcasts?

If you are a podcaster, the best way to manage your podcasts on Listen Notes is by claiming your Listen Notes podcast pages. It is a great, free way to engage the podcast community and increase the visibility of your podcasts.
After claiming your Listen Notes podcast pages, you will be able to:
Manually refresh the RSS feed to sync up
Get a verified badge (
Claimed
) alongside with your podcast name on Listen Notes
Post classified ads for sponsorship, guests, co-hosts, cross-promotion...
Coming soon:
Self-service promotion on Listen Notes
Use speech-to-text techniques to transcribe your show and edit transcripts
Improve the presence of your podcasts, e.g., self served podcaster interview...
Respond to listener comments on Listen Notes
Track your podcast stats on Listen Notes, e.g., listens, page views...
Manage episodes

EDIT

Thank you for helping to keep the podcast database up to date.