FuntimeException

FuntimeException
By FuntimeException
About this podcast
Podcast by FuntimeException
Latest episodes
Jan. 10, 2017
Rob and John are back to talk about alternative languages on the JVM and also help us determine, once and for all, what the worst Halloween candy is. Here's a hint, its probably whoppers. Also, Rob hates candy. Enkel - http://jakubdziworski.github.io/categories.html#Enkel-ref Kotlin - https://kotlinlang.org/ Ceylon - https://www.ceylon-lang.org/ Rust - https://www.rust-lang.org/en-US/ Scala - http://www.scala-lang.org/ Follows us on Twitter! FuntimeException - twitter.com/funtimexception Danny Hyun - twitter.com/Lspacewalker Michael Cacek - twitter.com/threeistoomany John Engelman - twitter.com/johnrengelman Rob Fletcher - twitter.com/rfletcherEW
Nov. 8, 2016
Jenn Strater joins us to talk about her Fulbright Scholarship and discuss foreign lands, beer, static code analysis, and the Groovy Community. Oh yeah, and John Engelman is here again too... Groovy Community Signup - https://groovycommunity.com/ The Fulbright Program - https://eca.state.gov/fulbright CodeNarc - http://codenarc.sourceforge.net/ Burp and Fart Piano - http://www.burpandfartpiano.com/ Ars Technica - http://arstechnica.com/ Dark Sky - http://darksky.net Follow us on Twitter! FuntimeException - twitter.com/funtimexception Danny Hyun - twitter.com/Lspacewalker Michael Cacek - twitter.com/threeistoomany Jenn Strater - twitter.com/codejennerator John Engelman - twitter.com/johnrengelman
Oct. 20, 2016
Jon DeJong and Dan Woods join us on a technological detour as we take a break from the JVM and discuss the wide world of JavaScript! Drinks were drunk and discussions were had. We had so much fun that we decided to make this a multipart episode. Enjoy Part I. Groovy Community - https://groovycommunity.com Burp and Fart Piano - http://www.burpandfartpiano.com/ Dark Sky (weather) - https://darksky.net/ Ars Technica - http://arstechnica.com/ Follows us on Twitter! FuntimeException - twitter.com/funtimexception Danny Hyun - twitter.com/Lspacewalker Michael Cacek - twitter.com/threeistoomany Jon DeJong - twitter.com/jondejong Dan Woods - twitter.com/danveloper
Oct. 3, 2016
Correction: 48:00 - Rather than Sinon mocks and spies as opposed to the funtionality provided by Jasmine. Reference Links Sinon.js - http://sinonjs.org/ Test Double - https://github.com/testdouble/testdouble.js Spock - http://docs.spockframework.org Spock: Up and Running - http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920038597.do Music Recommendations Tacocat - https://tacocat.bandcamp.com Every Time I Die - http://www.everytimeidie.net/ Major Lazer - http://majorlazer.com/ Santigold - http://tumblr.santigold.com/ Leaving Haven - http://leavinghaven.com/ Breaking Benjamin - http://breakingbenjamin.com/ Kate Jackson - http://www.katejackson.co.uk/home Alexandra Savior - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FaeqiQezvX0 Follows us on Twitter! FuntimeException - twitter.com/funtimexception Danny Hyun - twitter.com/Lspacewalker Michael Cacek - twitter.com/threeistoomany Rob Fletcher - https://twitter.com/rfletcherEW Craig Atkinson - https://twitter.com/craigatk1
Sept. 26, 2016
Hot off the presses..or something. We welcome Dan Woods and Kyle Boon to the podcast and talk Java One, Oracle, and conspiracy theories! Enjoy. Reference Links Learning Ratpack - http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920037545.do Juggling Multiple Java Platforms and Jigsaw with Gradle - https://melix.github.io/javaone2016-juggling-jigsaw/#/ Java Libraries You Can’t Afford To Miss - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmmP-7d6pWw How NOT to Measure Latency - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJ8ydIuPFeU Cellar HQ - https://www.cellarhq.com Dead Mountain - http://deadmountainbook.com/ Dyatlov Pass incident - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dyatlov_Pass_incident Neal Stephenson - http://www.nealstephenson.com/ Follows us on Twitter! FuntimeException - https://twitter.com/funtimexception Danny Hyun - https://twitter.com/Lspacewalker Michael Cacek - https://twitter.com/threeistoomany Dan Woods - https://twitter.com/danveloper Kyle Boon - https://twitter.com/kyleboon Release date: September 26, 2016
Sept. 19, 2016
Welcome to the very first episode of “FuntimeException”. This is our first foray into podcasting but we had a lot of fun doing it. It was a little bit of a rough ride but we’re just getting started. Follow FuntimeException on Twitter or SoundCloud if you would like to be notified when new episodes are released. Client Dependencies Gradle Plugin https://github.com/craigburke/client-dependencies-gradle How one developer just broke Node, Babel and thousands of projects in 11 lines of JavaScript (left-pad) http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/03/23/npm_left_pad_chaos/ "fs" unpublished and restored http://status.npmjs.org/incidents/dw8cr1lwxkcr Our security auditor is an idiot http://serverfault.com/questions/293217/our-security-auditor-is-an-idiot-how-do-i-give-him-the-information-he-wants Recommendations Pegasus Spyware (just the docs) - https://info.lookout.com/rs/051-ESQ-475/images/lookout-pegasus-technical-analysis.pdf Mr. Robot - http://www.usanetwork.com/mrrobot Visual Studio Code - https://code.visualstudio.com/ indent-rainbow - https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=oderwat.indent-rainbow Destroy All Software - https://www.destroyallsoftware.com Wat - https://www.destroyallsoftware.com/talks/wat Follow us on Twitter! FuntimeException - https://twitter.com/funtimexception Danny Hyun - https://twitter.com/Lspacewalker Michael Cacek - https://twitter.com/threeistoomany John Engelman - https://twitter.com/johnrengelman Aaron Zirbes - https://twitter.com/aaronzirbes Craig Burke - https://twitter.com/craigburke1 Release date: September 18, 2016